1. Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award 2008 for Outstanding contribution in the Field of "Agricultural Research and Extension"

CRRI bagged this award in recognition of its outstanding contribution in improving the income and quality of life of rice farmers in India.

2. Krishi Sansthan Samman

CRRI won the Krishi Sansthan Samman 2013 of Mahindra Samriddhi India Agri Awards (MSIAA) instituted by Mahindra and Mahindra Ltd. in partnership with Zee News. The MSIAA carries a cash prize of Rs. 2,11,000 and a trophy. Dr. T. Mohapatra on behalf of the institute received the award from Shri Tariq Anwar, Hon. Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Food Processing Industries, Govt. of India in the award ceremony held on February 21, 2013 at Hotel Ashoka, New Delhi.

The institute bagged this prestigious award for developing hybrid rice variety CR Dhan 701 and drought tolerant variety Sahabhagi Dhan which sustainably improved the income of farmers. CR Dhan 701 is first of its kind in the country having maturity duration of 145 days and suitable for shallow rainfed lowland ecosystem. It exhibits significant yield superiority over popular varieties Savitri and Pooja. It is also resistant to leaf blast, and yields 4 to 6 t/ha with medium slender grains. On the other hand Sahabhagi Dhan yields 3.8 to 4.5 t/ha in 68 days. It is resistant to leaf blast and moderately resistant to brown spot, sheath rot, stem borer and leaf folder with good cooking quality. Both the varieties are widely adopted in Bihar, Jharkhand and other states of Eastern India. 3. Think Odisha Leadership Award The Times of India and Tefla's "Think Odisha Leadership Award for Educational Institute of Excellence 2011" was awarded to CRRI for its path-breaking rice research that led to the development of various technologies involved tapping genetic resources for breeding rice varieties with higher yield potential, better grain quality and increased tolerance to diseases and pests. Dr. T.K Adhya, Director, CRRI received the Award from Shri Naveen Patnaik, Hon$#039ble Chief Minister of Odisha on 27 August, 2011 in Bhubaneswar.


Inter-Zonal Tournament Championship Trophy in 2007, 2008 and 2013 and Zonal Tournament Championship Trophy in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013